Links

The Lace Guild   https://www.laceguild.org


Edinburgh Lace Club Facebook   https://www.facebook.com/groups/723654668008196/?ref=bookmarks

Edinburgh Summer School  www.edinburghlacecourse.co.uk

Lacemakers Facebook  www.facebook.com/groups/30338026304/


Scottish Lace Clubs

NB if there is no website listed below, please contact us for more information on info.edinburghlaceclub@gmail.com

Aberdeen   www.bonaccordbobbins.co.uk
Aberdeen, Forres, Inverness and District
Ayr
Blairgowrie, Perthshire
Border
Bridge of Allan, Stirlingshire
Castle Douglas, Dumfries and Galloway
Ceres, Fife
Currie, Midlothian (Edinburgh)
Dumfries, Dumfries and Galloway
Edinburgh   www.edinburghlaceclub.co.uk
Elgin, Morayshire
Glasgow   www.glasgowlacegroup.co.uk
Greenock, Renfrewshire
Huntly, Aberdeenshire
Inverness
Kelso, Roxburghshire   www.kelso.bordernet.co.uk/organisations/roxburghlacemakers.html
Kilmarnock, Ayrshire
Lerwick, Shetland Isles
Nairn, Inverness-shire
New Pitsligo, Aberdeenshire   www.visitfraserburgh.com/event/new-pitsligo-lace-club-meetings-adults-class
St Andrew’s, Fife   www.cosmoscentre.org.uk/Index.asp?MainID=27242

 


UK Alphabetical Lace Group Listed by County – September 2018

(Courtesy of The Lace Guild)

For more information please contact The Lace Guild via:   www.laceguild.org or  hollies@laceguild.org

There is also a comprehensive Lace Group list at:  https://www.laceguild.org/guild/pics/CountyGroupSept18.pdf


Suppliers

Alison Tolson Painted Bobbins   www.lacebobbin.com

Biggins Lace   www.bigginslace.co.uk

Church Meadow Crafts   www.churchmeadowcrafts.com

Claire’s Lace   www.claireslace.co.uk

Jo Firth Lacemaking   www.jofirthlacemaking.co.uk

Mainly Lace   www.mainlylace.co.uk

Rose Ground   www.roseground.com


Haberdasheries, Crafts, Wellbeing . . .  and more

Beautifully Strung by Laurina Strachan (ELC Harpist)   www.beautifully-strung.com

Edinburgh Patchwork   edinburghpatchwork.com

J&P Coats History (Scottish thread makers – from Paisley)
www.paisleypeoplesarchive.org/thread-mills/history-of-paisley-thread-mills.aspx  https://paisleythreadmill.co.uk/about/

Mairigold Lace   www.mairigoldlace.co.uk

myBearpaw  – patchwork   mybearpaw.com

Pins & Needles – knitting, sewing and more   www.pins-needles.net

Sew Confident – classes on crochet, knitting, sewing, embroidery, weaving, quilting and more  https://www.sewconfident.co.uk/glasgow

Wemyss School of Needlework  https://wemyssneedlework.com/

 


‘Scottish Lace’ Newsletter   

Join our lacemaking community!

Issued quarterly – £10 per annum

Interesting and thought provoking articles

Wide variety of modern and traditional lace discussed

Hints and Tips

Events Diary in every issue

For a subscription form, please contact:   info.edinburghlaceclub@gmail.com


2018 : Lacemaking is listed as an Endangered Craft *

This website covers a lot of information about lacemaking and is well worth a read.  ‘Lace’ and ‘Scottish Lace’ readers are well aware our lovely craft is in crisis.  Examples given are ‘lack of teachers’, ‘lace is all about doilies and hankies’, ‘only retired people make lace’, etc.

* Read more 2018 detail at:    www.heritagecrafts.org.uk/lace-making/

2019 : Lacemaking is now listed as a Currently Viable Craft **

This means lace craft is healthier than it was before, as there are adequate numbers of lacemakers and tutors who can help teach new students.  However, the craft is not yet sustainable or risk free.

** Read more 2019 detail at:  https://heritagecrafts.org.uk/wp-content/uploads/2019/03/HCA-Red-List-optimised.pdf


The Westhope Group : taking forward traditional lace skills into modern textile art

Three of our Club Members also belong to The Westhope Group.  Do have a look at their website and prepare to be inspired!

https://www.westhopegroup.org.uk/aboutus


98Lace : giving modern lace a livelier public profile

Enjoy looking at their exciting gallery!  Click here  https://www.98lace.org.uk/events.html


 

Back to Top